Categories: UncategorizedPublished On: August 1st, 2023

This article was originally posted in the Hobbs News-Sun.

Hobbs, NM – The JF Maddox Foundation announced the selection of the 2023 finalists for the Jack Maddox Distinguished Scholarship.  All five finalists bear the distinction of being Maddox Scholars.  The 2023 Maddox Scholars are:  Cecilia Sanchez (Lovington), Emily Stuard (Hobbs), James Engan (Hobbs), Sarah Reaves (Eunice), and Teagan McCool (Hobbs).

An independent Selection Committee reviewed the 48 applications for the Jack Maddox Distinguished Scholarship Program from throughout Lea County, and considered each applicant’s academic achievements, extracurricular activities, and written essays.  From this applicant pool, the Selection Committee selected 20 semi-finalists for personal interviews.  In addition to the five finalists listed above, the semi-finalists were: Alejandro (Alex) Franco (Lovington), Ashlynn Ornelas (Lovington), Avery Blackmon (Hobbs), Benjamin Miller (Hobbs), Corbin Chance (Hobbs), Danny McMullen (Lovington), Dianna Avitia (Hobbs), Elijah Edwards (Eunice), Erlin Salcido (Lovington), Jacob Ortega (Eunice), Javier Prieto (Lovington), Jorja Wier (Tatum), Luke Guinn (Jal), Osmar Abrego (Lovington), and Yassine Tigui (Hobbs). Each semi-finalist will receive a $5,000 scholarship award to their university for qualified education expenses during their first year of undergraduate study.

Following an additional interview, the independent Selection Committee will award the Jack Maddox Distinguished Scholarship to one of the five finalists, who will bear the distinction of being a Jack Maddox Distinguished Scholar.  The Jack Maddox Distinguished Scholarship will cover the cost of attending four years of undergraduate study, including tuition, lab and other fees, textbooks, and on-campus room and board.

The other four finalists will receive a $20,000 scholarship award, $5,000 per academic year for four years of undergraduate study, which may be used for educational expenses.  Several regional universities have agreed to match this Scholarship, dollar for dollar, which essentially doubles the benefits of the Scholarship. Those matching schools are Hardin-Simmons University, McMurry University, New Mexico State University, Rice University, Texas Christian University, Texas Tech University, University of New Mexico, and University of the Southwest.

The Jack Maddox Distinguished Scholarship Program, which selected its first class of scholars in 1996, has provided over $4 million in college scholarships since its inception.

The JF Maddox Foundation was established by Jack Maddox and his wife, Mabel, who were longtime residents of Hobbs, and is governed by a board of directors consisting of members of the Maddox family and independent directors.


The JF Maddox Foundation is a family foundation in Lea County, New Mexico.  Alongside its partners, the foundation invests in education, social services, and community development for a greater quality of life for Lea County residents. For more information on the JF Maddox Foundation, visit